Leïla Couradin, curator and art critic 

 

The fruit of a sensitive curiosity for natural geological, astronomical, and biological phenomena, the bronze pieces of Jean-Christophe Couradin seem as if they have always existed. Similar to fossils, meteorites, or shells obeying only the laws of nature, these sculptures appear as if foreign to the work of the hand. This may be due to the desire of the artist—whose first pieces were in wood—to follow the veins of that living material, for fear of endowing it with an overly manufactured geometric form. The sculptures’ curves and edges evoke landscapes made of ridges, mountains, and plains, inviting viewers to travel. If the metaphor reminds me of the familiar panorama of my childhood in the Alps, it is equally possible to imagine the unknown reliefs of distant planets, such as Aurorae Sinus, one of the phantom seas of Mars, the sinuous Baltis Vallis of Venus, or the icy rings of Saturn. Or perhaps, below the earth’s surface, descending towards the abyss of an equally mysterious underwater world, alongside coral reefs, viewers may be reminded of the majestic flight of a manta ray, the shadow of a century-old shell, or the calm and graceful movement of the tail fin of a blue whale.

Between the cosmos, the terrestrial universe, and the underwater depths, Jean-Christophe Couradin’s sculptures evoke at once mythology and literary fantasy worlds, producing the impression that is as both dizzying as it is calming of the extension of time: all that has been and all that will be.  

The colours of the patinas, deep and iridescent, catch the eye, plunging the viewer into a hypnotic journey through multiple worlds. Whether an allusion to the ochre earth of Australia, the saffron-coloured sands of Africa, the contours of the seabed off the coast of Antarctica, or the turquoise beaches of Oceania, they too fervently summon the imagination.

Jean-Christophe Couradin’s works also take viewers on a journey through art history, redolent of both the pared down lines of a Brancusi—a figurehead of Modernist sculpture whose tremendously avant-garde pieces paved the way towards a more complete form of abstraction—as the sinuous and complex forms of a Tony Cragg and New British Sculpture. The haptic experience induced by the curves and edges of the works is gradually transformed into a veritable tactile sensation, the source of an eminently personal artistic emotion.

 

The journey continues... Towards the inner self…

Leïla Couradin, commissaire d'exposition et critique d’art

 

Fruits d’une curiosité sensible pour les phénomènes naturels géologiques, astronomiques ou biologiques, les pièces en bronze de Jean-Christophe Couradin semblent avoir toujours été. Comme autant de fossiles, de météorites ou de coquillages n’obéissant qu’aux lois du monde, ces sculptures pourraient être parfaitement étrangères au travail de la main. Peut-être est-ce dû à la volonté de l’artiste – dont les premières œuvres étaient en bois – de suivre le veinage de ce matériau vivant, de peur de lui imposer une forme géométrique trop manufacturée. Aussi, les courbes et les arêtes dessinent des paysages faits de crêtes, de monts et de plaines, invitant au voyage. Si cette métaphore m’évoque le panorama si familier de mon enfance dans les Alpes, il n’en reste pas moins possible d’imaginer parcourir les reliefs méconnus de lointaines planètes, Aurorae Sinus, l’une des mers fantômes de Mars, la sinueuse vallée Baltis de Vénus ou encore les anneaux glacés de Saturne. Ou peut-être, sous la surface terrestre, s’enfonçant vers l’abîme d’un monde subaquatique tout aussi mystérieux, longeant les récifs coralliens, vous apercevrez le vol majestueux d’une raie manta, l’ombre d’une carapace centenaire ou le mouvement calme et gracile de la nageoire caudale d’une baleine bleue. 

 

Entre le cosmos, le monde terrestre ou les profondeurs sous-marines, les sculptures de Jean-Christophe Couradin évoquent à la fois la mythologie et la littérature d’anticipation fantastique, produisant l’impression aussi vertigineuse qu’apaisante de l’étirement du temps : tout ceci était et tout ceci sera. 

 

Les couleurs des patines, profondes et irisées, happent le regard : elles sont autant de mondes dans lesquels une plongée quasi hypnotique semble incontournable. Qu’elles fassent allusion aux terres ocres d’Australie, aux sables couleur safran en Afrique, aux fonds outre-mers au large de l’Antarctique, ou aux plages turquoises d’Océanie, elles convoquent, elles aussi, ardemment l’imaginaire.

 

Les œuvres de Jean-Christophe Couradin nous invitent également à voyager dans l’histoire de l’art ; elles évoquent autant les formes épurées d’un Brancusi – figure de proue de la sculpture moderniste – dont le travail prodigieusement avant-gardiste a ouvert la voie à une abstraction la plus totale, que les formes méandriques et complexes d’un Tony Cragg et de la nouvelle sculpture anglaise. L’expérience haptique induite par les sculptures se métamorphose progressivement en véritable sensation tactile, source d’une émotion artistique éminemment personnelle. 

 

Un voyage, toujours. Intérieur, peut-être.