The hypnoglyph, 2008

Gérard Klein, writer

Hypnoglyphs ? 

 

The hypnoglyph is a thing of mystery, sedutive and dangerous. Sitting on a table, it proves and irresistible attraction to your eye, then your hand. You run your fingers over it, caress it. It draws you in. Unable to look away, you fall into a gentle trance. You’ll soon fall victime to a predator. 

 

The word hypnoglyph comes from the Greek words glyph, meaning symbol or shape - as in hieroglyphics - and hypnos, for sleep or loss of consciousness. It was coined in the early 1950s by John Anthony, whose real name was John Ciardi, an American editor and poet who translated The Divine Comedy into English. It’s the title of a memorable short story, republished several times since.

 

The first time I saw the sculptures of Jean-Christophe Couradin - quite by chance, as with all true discoveries - I immediately thought of that story, with I’s read fifty years earlier. The hypnoglyph in the story comes from another world, another planet, where it’s used as a tactile lure. Couradin’s works or at least the rare woods from which they are extracted, come from only  slightly less far away. They have exotic names and provenances, like snakewood from Guyana, cocobolo from Mexico, the splendidly veiner, almost mineral green lignum vitae (a wood so dense it doesn’t float), pink ivory from South Africa, malgaro from Madagascar, rosewood from Rio, ebony from Makassar, Africa or Indonesia, kingwood from Brazil, and several varieties of mahogany, like the increasingly rare mahogany from Cuba, once used to build darkrooms because of its great stability. A real tour of our own planet, if not another one. 

 

The shapes also speak to me of mysterious origins. Admittedly, they make me think of certain works by Brancusi, and of the objects with which Yves Tanguy filled hier undersea paintings. Roger Caillois, who collected minerals because they fueled his imagination, would have loved them. Yet Couradin’s works doesn’t fall within any tradition that is identifiable - at least not by me - except perhaps in nature. They remind me of the spires of seashells from warm deep seas that look like otherworldly fruits or eggs, or sometimes even the outline of the genitals or a half-open bivalve. Of course, the artist had no such models, nor even any such intentions. I’m projecting my own images, my own fantasies, onto there rounded shapes. They nonetheless exude a powerful, confident sensuality through their substance, their color, and their shine, so perfect it would make them look like hard stones were it not for the warmth of the wood. 

 

Unlike most sculptors (and abode all museums) who forbid touching these surfaces, Jean-Christophe Couradin highly recommends it. Follow his advice. Your eyes are urging you to. Move your hand closer. Stroke the object with your fingers. With the flat of your palm. And finally, caress it. Your are seduces. You’re caught. You’re done for. 

 

A hypnoglyph. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

L’hypnoglyphe, 2008

Gérard Klein, écrivain

L’hypnoglyphe est un objet mystérieux, séduisant et dangereux. Posé sur une table, il attirera irrésistiblement votre regard, puis votre main qui l’effleurera d’abord, et le caressera. Vous voilà pris au piège. Incapable de vous en détacher, vous tomberez dans une douce hypnose, et serez bientôt la victime d’un prédateur.

Le mot vient du grec et réunit glyphe, signe, voire forme, comme dans hiéroglyphe, et hypnos, pour sommeil ou abandon de l’état conscient. Il a été forgé au début des années 1950 par John Anthony, de son véritable nom John Ciardi, éditeur et poète américain qui traduisit en anglais La Divine Comédie. C’est le titre d’une nouvelle mémorable et plusieurs fois rééditée.

La première fois que j’ai vu, un peu par hasard comme on fait toutes les vraies découvertes, puis touché comme il y invitait, les sculptures de Jean-Christophe Couradin, j’ai aussitôt pensé à cette histoire, lue cinquante ans plus tôt. L’hypnoglyphe de ce conte vient d’un autre monde, d’une autre planète où il sert d’appât tactile. Les œuvres de Couradin viennent à peine de plus près, du moins les bois rares dont elles ont été extraites, aux noms et provenances exotiques, bois d’amourette de Guyane, cocobolo du Mexique, gayak vert (un bois qui ne flotte pas) splendidement veiné, presque minéral, ébène rose d’Afrique du sud, malgaro de Madagascar, palissandre de Rio, ébène de Makassar ou d’Afrique, ou encore d’Indonésie, bois de violette du Brésil, et quelques variétés d’acajou, dont celle devenue rare de Cuba, dont on faisait autrefois les chambres photographiques en raison de sa très grande stabilité. Un vrai tour de notre planète à défaut d’une autre.

Les formes m’évoquent aussi des origines secrètes. Elles me font certes penser à quelques Brancusi, et aussi à ces objets dont Yves Tanguy peuplait ses toiles sous-marines. Roger Caillois, qui collectionnait les minéraux pour leur aptitude à le faire rêver, les aurait aimées. Mais le travail de Couradin ne s’inscrit dans aucune tradition repérable, au moins par moi, sinon peut-être dans la nature. Il me suggère les volutes de coquilles issues de mers chaudes et profondes, aux allures de fruits ou d’œufs d’un autre monde, parfois des fonctions mathématiques à moins encore qu’il ne s’agisse d’autres courbes, à mon regard ouvertement féminines, parfois poussées jusqu’à l’orée du sexe ou l’entrebâillement d’un bivalve. Bien entendu, l’artiste n’a ni de tels modèles, ni même de telles intentions. Je projette sur ces rondeurs mes images voire mes fantasmes. C’est toutefois qu’elles dégagent une puissante et sereine sensualité, par leur matière, leurs teintes, leur poli si parfait qu’il les ferait ressembler parfois à des pierres dures n’était la chaleur du bois.

Au lieu, comme font la plupart des sculpteurs (et surtout les musées) d’interdire de toucher à ces surfaces, Jean-Christophe Couradin le recommande fortement. Suivez son conseil. Vos yeux vous y invitent.
Approchez votre main. Flattez l’objet des doigts. Du creux de la paume. Caressez-le enfin.
Vous êtes séduit. Vous êtes piégé. Vous voilà perdu.

Un hypnoglyphe, je vous avais pourtant prévenu.